top of page

A popular Chinese Motto

好好学习,天天向上(hǎo hǎo xué xí , tiān tiān xiàng shàng ) is a popular motto in China. Word by word it means "good good study, day day up.” It actually means “study hard and make progress every day.”


When I was a child, my teachers and my parents often said this to me on the first day of a new semester. These eight simple words are full of the ardent expectations of the old generation for their children. As I grew up even until today, these words still guide my life.


We all live and learn. We learn new things every day. We learn to drive, learn foreign languages, etc. So how do you learn? Study hard and make progress every day. It just tells me to be persistent and achieve my goals.


In the first week of our class, I wish you all 好好学习,天天向上 (hǎo hǎo xué xí , tiān tiān xiàng shàng ) - “study hard and make progress every day." with your Chinese.

Written in 2023




Comments


bottom of page